Resources for Gifted Child Education

This guide introduces education students to the Library and Internet resources available to them at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. It is specifically designed for students in the UL Lafayette College of Education studying gifted child education

Selected Book Titles: Find Books and Other Resources in This List of Print Titles From the Library’s Collection

The Academic Acceleration of Gifted Children

by Thomas W. Southern; Eric D. Jones; Thomas Southern; Eric Jones
Call Number: LC3993.9 .A65 1991
ISBN: 0807730688
Publication Date: 1991-03-01

The controversies surrounding the use of educational acceleration have remained unresolved throughout the past century. This book has been written to provide American practitioners with the information they need to make appropriate decisions.

Comprehensive Curriculum for Gifted Learners

by Joyce VanTassel-Baska; Tamra Stambaugh
Call Number: LC3993.9 .C66 1988
ISBN: 0205388655
Publication Date: 2005-07-27

Comprehensive Curriculum for Gifted Learnersprovides a theoretical, research-based framework and practical ideas for writing, implementing, and adapting curriculum for gifted learners in a standards-based era. Readers are first introduced to various curriculum theories, the Integrated Curriculum Model, curriculum reform, and a process for curriculum design and development, culminating in examples of key curriculum products. Specific core subject areas and non-core subject areas (including thinking skills, creativity, leadership, and the arts) are addressed with practical examples and connections to standards with adaptations for gifted learners. At-risk populations, connections to technology, interdisciplinary approaches, assessment options, and instructional and classroom management strategies are also emphasized and discussed in detail.

Counseling the Gifted and Talented

by Linda Kreger Silverman
Call Number: LC3993.2 .C66 1993
ISBN: 9780891082736
Publication Date: 1993-02-01

Examining both the cognitive complexity and emotional intensity of gifted children, this title discusses the need for modification of counseling techniques. It presents a developmental model to enable counselors to orchestrate a program of prevention rather than remediation. It also provides specific strategies for individual and group counseling.

Education of the Gifted and Talented

by Gary A. Davis; Sylvia B. Rimm; Del Siegle
Call Number: LC3993 .D38 1985
ISBN: 0135056071
Publication Date: 2010-04-08

This top-selling comprehensive book, written by leaders in the field, presents a thorough review of the entire field of gifted education with best-practices. After a brief overview of current issues in the field, the book discusses crucial topics in the field, including the characteristics of gifted students, strategies for identification, considerations in planning sound gifted and talented programs, contemporary program models, varieties of acceleration, differentiated curriculum models, problems of underachievement of disadvantaged, twice-exceptional, and female gifted students, and the evaluation of gifted programs. The authors also address affective needs, leadership, and counseling. A chapter on parenting gifted children includes a section on advocating for gifted education and communication with schools. The sixth edition has been thoroughly revised, most notably with the latest research on acceleration, curriculum models, underachievement, culturally and economically disadvantaged students, gender issues, and dual exceptionalities. The content is further supported and enhanced by the inclusion of numerous practical strategies that can be implemented in the classroom, case studies that help teachers identify student needs, summaries of research on effective programs, emphasis on pedagogy and on social-emotional needs, heightened awareness of less visible sub-groups within gifted populations, and an amusing, witty writing style that adds to the appeal of this best-selling book.

Reaching New Horizons

by Jaime A. Castellano; Eva Díaz
Call Number: LC3993.2 .R43 2002
ISBN: 0205314139
Publication Date: 2001-09-28

This user-friendly text offers a comprehensive overview at the interface between bilingual/multicultural/ESL education and gifted education.Reaching New Horizons is the first book of its kind. Written by nationally recognized and award-winning leaders in both gifted and bilingual education, the authors have collaborated to create a book that bridges research and practice and has far-reaching implications for educators at all levels as culturally and linguistically diverse students continue to impact public education. The book includes chapters on program delivery models (Ch. 6), bilingualism (Ch. 3), and identification and assessment (Ch. 5)-all topics that have come into the forefront of issues faced by bilingual and gifted education teachers of grades K-12.For educators in bilingual and ESL studies, as well as special educators.

Schools for Talent Development

by Joseph S. Renzulli
Call Number: LC3993.9 .R45 1994, SUPPL 1994
ISBN: 0936386657
Publication Date: 1994-01-01

The Schoolwide Enrichment Model is a blueprint for total school improvement that stresses flexibility and creativity and promotes challenging, enjoyable learning across all school types, levels, and demographics. The model combines organizational resources with three service-delivery components: the total-talent portfolio, curriculum-modification techniques, and enrichment learning and teaching.

Teaching Culturally Diverse Gifted Students

by Donna Y. Ford; H. Richard Milner; Frances A. Karnes; Kristen R. Stephens
Call Number: LC3993 .F62 2005
ISBN: 1593631766
Publication Date: 2005-09-01

This is an easy way to nurture all seven intelligences and provide opportunities for each student to work in a way that is most appropriate for his or her abilities.

Oxford Reference Online


Titles from the collection include:

Gale Virtual Reference Library


Titles from the collection include:

eBooks on EBSCOHost


Titles from the collection include:

Search These Places

Search the Library's catalog to find print books, eBooks, periodical titles, and government documents.

Search the Library Catalog
Search Books, eBooks, Journals, Magazines, Media, Government Documents, Microforms, and more.
 
For best results, start with a Keyword search.
Full Catalog Advanced Search | My Account | Louisiana Digital Library

EBSCOhost Logo

eBook Collection


Credo Online Reference Service Logo






Oxford Reference Online Search Box Example
Search Oxford Reference Online




HathiTrust Logo

Loading ...