- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Resources for Geosciences
- Journals & Databases
Resources for Geosciences
- Introduction
- Finding Resources
- Subject Headings & Call Numbers
- Journals & Databases
- Other Resources
- Questions? Ask Us!
Questions?
Call: (337) 482-6025
Email: reference@louisiana.edu
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Search Google Scholar
-
Google ScholarFrom one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources. Google Scholar provides links to Dupré Library to check for availability. Include 'library.louisiana.edu' in the library links section of your Google Scholar settings to automatically link to full-text through the library.
Geoscience Journals
Here is a list of journals Dupré Library subscribes to that might help you find what you need. You can easily pull these journals up by searching their name in Publication Finder.
- Anthropocene Review
- Earth Surface Processes and Landforms
- Environmental Earth Sciences
- Geochemistry Geophysics Geosystems (G3)
- Geology
- Geophysical Journal International
- Geophysical Prospecting
- Geophysical Research Letters
- Geophysics
- Holocene including The Anthropocene Review
- Holocene, The
- Hortscience
- Hydrological Processes
- International Geology Review
- Journal of Environmental Quality
- Journal of Forestry
- Journal of Geophysical Research: Solid Earth
- Journal of Paleolimnology
- Journal of Petroleum Geology
- Journal of Quaternary Science
- Journal of Sedimentary Research
- Journal of Soil & Water Conservation (IP Address)
- Marine Geology
- Paleoceanography and Paleoclimatology
- Proceedings of the National Convention of the Society of American Foresters
- Sedimentology
- Soil Science
- Soil Science Society of America Journal
- Tectonics
Geoscience Databases
Here is a list of databases that might help you in your research you can access the databases and read detailed descriptions of them on the Database page.
- AAPG Datapages
- Agricola
- Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S., 1789-1879
- Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878
- BioMed Central
- Environment Complete
- GeoRef
- GreenFILE
- Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970
- Science & Technology Collection
- Science Advances
- Science Online
- Science Signaling
- ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
- Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
- SciFinder
- Web of Science Core Collection
- World Development Indicators
Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles
What does "peer-reviewed" mean?
A peer-reviewed article is reviewed by subject experts before being approved for publication in order to ensure that it meets specific criteria and standards. Journals that use peer review in their selection process are generally considered to be of higher quality and more trustworthy than those that don’t use the peer review process.
How do I find peer-reviewed articles?
You can find peer-reviewed articles by searching our databases. Most databases give you the option to select for peer-reviewed articles when conducting your search. Check the "Peer Reviewed" box to ensure all the articles in your search results come from peer-reviewed journals.