- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Collections for College of Engineering
- Department of Petroleum Engineering
Collections for College of Engineering
- Department of Chemical Engineering
- Department of Civil Engineering
- Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Department of Engineering Technology
- Department of Mechanical Engineering
- Department of Petroleum Engineering
- Questions? Ask Us!
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Petroleum Engineering - University Archives
COLL 1- B 08 g – University Archives: Petroleum Engineering
Petroleum Engineering - Acadiana Manuscripts Collection
COLL 14 – Lake B. Grow Collection
A collection of photographs relating to the early 1900s oil development in the Anse La Butte, Evangeline, and Gulf Coast areas.
COLL 25 – John M. Caffery Papers
Businessman, politician and state senator from Franklin, Louisiana. Business correspondence relating to petroleum production, correspondence and other papers of U. S. Senator Donelson Caffery (1825-1906), and Caffery family papers.
COLL 67 – Petroleum Archives Collection
Oil history began in Louisiana on 20 September 1901 when the first producing well of the Jennings field was brought in. This collection consists of newspaper and magazine articles on the petroleum industry in Louisiana. Also included are numerous oil-related magazines and journals, reports, interviews, and photographs on the industry from the 1900s-1970s.
COLL 77 – Carl R. Froitzheim Collection
Collection of photographs taken by A. L. Barnett, photographer of Crowley, La. Includes pages from a photograph album showing pictures of rice and oil fields; unidentified people; a picture of a minister and a group of young people in caps and gowns; certificate of membership in the Live Oak Society of the Lutheran Live Oak, Crowley.
COLL 81 – Heywood Oil Company Collection
Contains newspapers, some dating from early 1900s through 1960s relating to the oil industry and the Heywood family; picture of first oil well in Louisiana; poem about Scott Heywood, his obituary; pictures of people and oilfields; old map of Jennings Oil Field in 1920; memo book, circa 1888; correspondence dating 1905-1938; programs, certificates and reports of the Louisiana Tax Reform Commission.
COLL 91 – Fred Gerwick Photographs
Photographs of the oil industry and workers in Louisiana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and Texas; includes family scenes.
COLL 98 – F. E. Zimmer and Company-Louisiana Department of Conservation Hearing Records
For many years F. E. Zimmer and Company served as official reporters for the Louisiana Department of Conservation. The company maintained transcripts of public hearings for the siting of oil and gas drilling locations. These transcripts include testimony taken at the hearing, exhibits presented by the petitioning company, and frequently, maps of the site. The provenance of the collection is unclear, but it was probably donated by F. E. Zimmer. Duplicates of these records are said to exist in Baton Rouge and Lake Charles.
COLL 154 – Southern and Northern Oil Company Records
This collection contains the financial transactions of the Southern and Northern Oil Company of Jennings, Louisiana. The collection includes checks, purchase invoices, bills, receipts, accounting statements, and miscellaneous items. Donated by Burt Tietje, Jennings, Louisiana in 1988.
COLL 215 – Louisiana Gulf Coast Oil Expedition (LAGCOE) Collection
The Louisiana Gulf Coast Oil Expedition (LAGCOE) was organized in 1955 as a non-profit corporation to promote a better understanding and appreciation of the part played by the oil industry in Louisiana society. This biannual event is located in Lafayette, and is the heart of Louisiana’s land and offshore oil activity. This collection consists of exhibit materials including brochures, pamphlets, photographs, correspondence, bylaws and resolution, history about the oil show, scrapbooks and others. Frances Love donated this collection.
COLL 238 – Dailey J. Berard Collection
Dailey J. Berard founded Universal Fabricators, Inc. in 1980 based on his own inventions. UNIFAB is an industry leader in the custom fabrication of topside facilities, decks, jackets, equipment modules and other structures used in the development and production of oil and gas reserves. This collection consists of mainly correspondence. Also included are newspaper clippings, magazines articles about Berard and UNIFAB and other miscellaneous materials as well. This collection was donated by Frances Love.
COLL 279 – Perkins and Branch Oil Museum Collection
David L. Perkins and Dan P. Branch were architects from Lafayette who worked on a project to establish a “Louisiana Gulf Coast Petroleum Energy Museum.” This collection consists of drawings, floor plans, correspondence, financial reports, planning reports, photographs, maps, newspaper clippings and writings from people in the oil-related fields. This collection was donated by David L. Perkins and Dan P. Branch.
COLL 301 – Offshore Oil and Gas History Project Collection
The Minerals Management Service (MMS), U.S. Department of the Interior, sponsored a study to examine the historical evolution of the offshore oil and gas industry and its effects on Louisiana’s coastal culture, economy, landscape, and society. Between 2001 and 2006, over 450 interviews were recorded for the project. Each interview provides a unique look at the offshore oil and gas industry and its impacts on workers, their families and their communities. The interviews are on compact discs.
COLL 341 – William W. Hawkins Papers
William Winford "Win" Hawkins was a major business man in the oil industry. He also owned and/or managed camps in Cameron Parish for duck hunting. This collection contains Win Hawkins’s personal and work papers. These include materials on oil companies, finances, lease agreements, and his hunting clubs. The collection is contained in 33 boxes and 1 oversize folder.
COLL 342 – Andrew Garber Collection
Research material gathered in preparing his master's thesis, The Miracle Mile: the Heymann Oil Center and the Oil Economy of Lafayette, Louisiana, 1953-1998 (Appalachian State University, 1998).
COLL 388 – Kerr-McGee Corporation Collection
Kerr-McGee Corporation offers oil and natural gas exploration and production services in the United States. The company was founded in 1929 by Robert S. Kerr (1896-1963) and Dean A. McGee (1904-1989) and is based in the Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. As of August 10, 2006, Kerr-McGee Corporation operates as a subsidiary of Anadarko Petroleum Corporation. This collection contains 293 volumes.
MSS 103 – Marie Louise Franques LaCaze Collection
Miscellaneous materials from Church Point (stock certificate for the Church Point, Rayne Oil and Mineral Company); Rayne (bank report and social materials); and Sunset (printed report).
MSS 104 – Behling-Pollock Engineering Company Materials
Engineering drawings mainly for the bell tower at Brownell Memorial Park, Morgan City, Louisiana. There is also some material on Mobil Oil Intracoastal Tank, Bayou Sale, Louisiana. Donated by Mrs. Dan O'Brien.
MSS 183 – Yount-Lee Oil Company Records
The Yount-Lee Oil Company was founded in 1914 in Texas. This is an employee listing of the company as of December 1928.
MSS 253 – Evangeline Oil Company Certificate
Certificate: Capitol Stock certified that Earl Guile is the owner of two hundred shares of Evangeline Oil Company, September 1920. Original.