- Edith Garland Dupré Library
- Research Guides
- Resources for Civil Engineering
- Internet & Other Resources
Resources for Civil Engineering
A guide to books, eBooks, journal articles, Internet resources and other material on the subject area of civil engineering.
- Getting Started
- Find Articles
- Find Books
- Full Text Online Journals
- Internet & Other Resources
- Questions? Ask Us!
Links to Engineering Guides
Links to All Guides
Call: (337) 482-6030
Text: (337) 205-7558
Visit: 1st Floor - Dupré Library
Form: Submit Your Question
Hours: Reference Desk/Chat
Note: Reference Chat and Email services are primarily for the students, faculty, and staff of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. The department will assist the public if the question concerns the University or some unique resource of Dupré Library, such as Federal government publications.
Selected Web Resources for Engineering
- American Society of Civil EngineersThe Civil Engineering Database provides a free online search of more than 170,000 bibliographic records for all ASCE publications since 1877. Covers magazines, books, conference proceedings and more. Information about the civil engineering society, its products and services. Tables of contents and abstracts of articles from the Society’s magazine and journals are available, with the full-text viewable by members and subscribers only. Its flagship journal, Civil Engineering, offers interesting web articles for free. Careers, forums, education and news are available in the Marketplace. Their Knowledge & Learning section is valuable for its extensive publications and links.
- ArcGIS for DesktopArcGIS Geostatistical Analyst provides a powerful suite of statistical models and tools for spatial data exploration and optimal surface generation.
- Eng-Tips ForumsPopular website for engineering professionals to exchange ideas and assistance. Online forums include specific disciplines from aeronautics engineering to structural engineering; other forums include hot topics, careers and even a section on proper language usage. Check out their Linked-In group, Networking for Eng-Tips.com Forums Members
- Engineering.comExcellent online source for engineers of all disciplines. Extensive directory, educator's resources, free tools, forum, career center, directories, and even textbook rentals.
- Engineers EdgeEngineering, design and manufacturing database, forums, calculator and other resources.
- EngNet Engineering NetworkPowerful directory-search engine-buyers guide service aimed specifically at the engineering industry.
- Geographic Information Systems (GIS)The Louisiana Field Office utilizes the latest GIS applications to provide spatial analyses to all programs; Civil Works, Coastal Restoration & Protection, Conservation Planning Assistance, Endangered Species, Environmental Contaminants, and Partners for Fish & Wildlife.
- GlobalSpecA leading specialized vertical search, information services and electronic publishing company serving the engineering, manufacturing and related scientific and technical market segments. Newsletters, product listings, broad range of proprietary and aggregated Web-based content.
- Government Documents: Maps, Geography and NavigationU.S. Government Information
- Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes SurveyThe Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes, including examples as diverse as the Pueblo of Acoma, houses, windmills, one-room schools, the Golden Gate Bridge, and buildings designed by Frank Lloyd Wright.
- StructuraeDiscover the diversity of civil engineering : More than 75,000 buildings with over 14,500 participating companies and applied products as well as over 10,000 participating civil engineers or architects illustrated with more than 290,000 pictures. Structurae is a unique information network and research tool for practicing civil engineers and students specializing in civil engineering, but also for architects and other professionals in the construction sector.
- TenLinks.com: the Ultimate Civil Engineering DirectoryDirectory of CAD, CAM, and CAE. Vast collection of more than 1000 civil engineering resources focused on building and construction engineering.
Videos from Engineering Motion
- Engineering Motion: Civil EngineeringA collection of engineering and technology related videos and demos. Browse videos on civil engineering.