Faculty Miniatures: Toward the Condensed, and Not-Yet-Known
David DuBose makes original prints and mixed media works on paper. He is an Associate Professor of Drawing and Foundations and the Coordinator for the Senior Capstone Program in the Department of Visual Arts. He received his B.F.A. degree from Texas Tech University and his M.F.A. degree from Louisiana State University. DuBose has held artist residencies in Ireland, Canada, Germany and the United States. He lived in Northern Ireland for thirteen years, where he taught printmaking at the University of Ulster in Belfast and was a visiting artist or lecturer at a number of other schools and colleges throughout Ireland. He served as Director of Seacourt Print Workshop for seven years and regularly taught printmaking courses there and at Belfast Print Workshop. He continues to exhibit regionally, nationally and internationally and his work is included in numerous public collections, including the Artist Printmaker Research Collection, the AIB Collection of Modern Irish Art and the Colorprint USA Collection. He joined the faculty at UL Lafayette in 2008.
In a world where reality is a layered event, Kate Gordon’s drawings seek to build illusions that challenge our perception of what is real and what is imagined. For Gordon, the painted picture plane is a three-dimensional installation inlaid with video and, at moments, burgeoning on becoming a pop-up book. The ranging material facts of her work are in keeping with the notion that the dream imagery she mines is itself not rational and does not prescribe purely to naturalistic sensibilities. Her vision is a translation of the utter strangeness of the world.
Kate Gordon earned an M.F.A. from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and a B.F.A. from Pratt Institute. Gordon has shown her paintings, collages and video works nationally; recent exhibitions include curation into the Weatherspoon Art Museum’s Art on Paper exhibition, an invitation to create a public video installation at Block 2 — a visual platform for new media artists in Raleigh, NC, and a solo exhibition at The Carrack, an artist run project space, in Durham, NC. Past exhibitions include a solo show at 68 Jay Street in Brooklyn, NY and a group exhibition at Five Points Gallery in Connecticut.
(Courtesy: Hilliard Art Museum)
Born in 1954 in Oxford, Mississippi, John Hathorn completed B.A. and M.Ed. degrees at the University of Mississippi, and received his M.F.A. from Florida State University. He is Professor of Painting and directs the B.F.A. Senior Seminar in the Department of Visual Arts at UL Lafayette where he has taught since 1982. He has also taught in the University Paris Study Abroad Program on four occasions between 1990 and 2010, extending his travel in England, France, the Netherlands, Italy, and Spain. He has had fifteen solo gallery and museum exhibitions and has participated in numerous group exhibitions including the New Orleans Museum of Art, Contemporary Art Center and Ogden Museum in New Orleans. Hathorn has been the recipient of grants through the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities, the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and was selected as a Visual Arts Fellow through the Louisiana Division of the Arts. In 2008 he was selected as a Distinguished Professor at the University. He is represented by the Craighead Green Gallery in Dallas where an exhibition of his work entitled The Cardinalis Sketches was shown in Jan. and Feb. 2012. He is also represented by the New Gallery in Houston, Texas. In February through April of 2013 the Acadiana Center for the Arts in Lafayette, Louisiana, will host a thirty-year retrospective of the artist’s work. A catalog will accompany the exhibition.
Emily Stergar attended Herron School of Art and Design and received her Bachelor's of Fine Arts in Sculpture in 2004. She then went on to obtain her Master’s Degree in Sculpture from Arizona State University in 2012. She exhibited DRAIN in Tempe, Arizona for which she was awarded the prestigious ISC Outstanding Student Achievement in Contemporary Sculpture Award. She exhibited the work at the Grounds for Sculpture in New Jersey and Bellevue Museum of Art in Seattle in 2013.
She has been an artist in residence at art-st-urban in Switzerland, where she is represented, and most recently at Azule-a Place of Arts & Community in Hot Springs, North Carolina. She has been included in several group exhibitions in Chicago, Corpus Christi, Dayton, and Madison, and will be exhibiting multiple pieces in Flesh & Form at UC Blue Ash Art Gallery in Cincinnati this Fall. Her work was recently on view in a solo exhibition titled Stack: a layering of elements at Gallery 924, sponsored by the Indianapolis Arts Council.
Stergar recently participated in a grant from Reconnecting Our Waterways and the Kresge Foundation resulting in two public works installed in the Near East Side Neighborhoods of Indianapolis. Stergar currently lives and works in Lafayette, Louisiana where she is an Assistant Professor of Sculpture at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.
Born and educated in central Texas, Professor Allan L. Jones began his college career in engineering Discovering the campus art department altered his life. In 1963 he received his Bachelor of Arts in painting from Texas Wesleyan College and in 1965 a Master of Fine Arts from Claremont Graduate University, Claremont, California His first teaching position was as an instructor in design and painting at University of Southwestern Louisiana in 1965. In 1970 Jones accepted an Assistant Professor position teaching painting and printmaking at Antioch College, Yellow Springs, Ohio. In 1986 Professor Jones returned to USL, now the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and is currently teaching intermediate painting, advanced painting, and drawing.
His work has been included in exhibitions at the the Cassa Frela Gallery N.Y.C., Atelier-Gallery Alain Piroir, Montreal, Quebec, Ogden Museum of Southern Art, University of Miami, Florida, Arizona State University, Kohn Turner Gallery, Los Angeles, San Diego Art Institute, San Diego, Janis Forberg Gallery, Cincinnati, Oxford Museum, Miami University, Ohio, University of Denver, Tony Birkhead Gallery, Cincinnati, New Museum, New York, Contemporary Arts Center, New Orleans, Louisville School Of Art, University of Kentucky, Contemporary Arts Center, Cincinnati, Dayton Art Institute and the Pasadena Art Museum, Pasadena, California.
Professor Jones' work has been selected to be included in a number of collections including the Oxford Museum, Miami University, Ohio, Yale University, Midsouth Bank, Lafayette, Harvard University, Cincinnati Pubic Library, Dupre Library, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Mint Museum, North Carolina, Chase Manhattan Bank, and the New York Public Library.
Brian Kelly received a M.F.A. in Printmaking at the Louisiana State University, a B.F.A. in Printmaking from Northern Illinois University, and a Certificate in Waterless Lithography from the Tamarind Institute of Lithography. Professor Kelly serves as Head of the Printmaking program and is Coordinator of Marais Press at UL Lafayette. Kelly holds the Universities Coca-Cola/BORSF Endowed Professorship and has been recognized as a University of Louisiana at Lafayette University Distinguished Professor in 2010 and a UL Lafayette Eminent faculty for Leadership and Service in 2017.
Kelly has presented and conducted over 46 printmaking workshops and lectures concerning printmaking research in the United States, Mexico, and Canada, and has held residences at the Tamarind Institute of Lithography and GLATT/YMAGOS Atelier in San Paulo Brazil.
Kelly’s prints have been included in over 400 exhibitions through out the United States, Canada, Japan, South Korea, China, Ireland, Australia, Brazil, Poland, England, Scotland, and Slovenia. His prints have been included in museum and university collections that include the University of Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom; Monash University, Gippsland, Australia; Print Australia, Print Archives, Australia; Limerick School of Art and Design, Limerick, Ireland; GLATT/YMAGOS Atelier, San Paulo, Brazil; West Cork Arts Center, Skibbereen, Co. Cork–Ireland; the University of Wisconsin at Madison, New Orleans Museum of Art, the Spencer Museum of Art, the University of Arizona Museum of Art, Museum of Texas Tech University; the University of Colorado, Virginia Commonwealth University; Miami Public Library, Northern Illinois University, Eastern New Mexico University, The University Art Museum, University of Louisiana at Lafayette, Louisiana State University, McNeese State University, Murray State University, Purdue University, University of North Dakota, University of Central Florida, University of Mississippi, University of north Carolina at Pawbroke, Texas Tech University, Nicholls State University, The University of South Florida, University of South Dakota, University of Miami at Florida, University of Mississippi, Southeastern Louisiana University, among others.
Stemming from a traditional photographic approach, Stephanie's work spans the expanded field of photography and includes darkroom and experimental film processes, hand-built cameras, and digital-analogue techniques. Landscape is a recurring foundation for her in which to address the connection of land to history, memory, and the human experience while bringing awareness to the impermanence of our environment. Growing up on Lake Huron in northern Michigan, her interest in the land began while photographing the dynamic nature of her home.
Since 2016, Stephanie has led the photography concentration at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. She received an MFA degree in photography and related media from Purdue University. The following six years, she relocated to Istanbul and taught photography and video courses at Sabanci University. She spent much of that time traveling throughout Europe and parts of the Middle East, and was an artist in residence at the Tsarino Foundation in Bulgaria, Arteles in Finland, and Listhus in Iceland.
Recently, she exhibited at the Center for Fine Art Photography in Colorado, the SoHo Photo and Amos Eno Galleries in New York; and the VAE in North Carolina. She was featured in Art Maze Magazine’s Summer Issue 13.
Claire Amy Schultz, PhD, is a visual arts educator specializing in performative pedagogy and aesthetic theory. Her research interests are situated around the lived experience of the arts and arts education. She taught elementary and high school visual arts in the Middle Georgia area for six years. Prior to her appointment to the faculty of UL Lafayette, Dr. Schultz was an Assistant Professor of Art Education at the University of Nebraska at Kearney.
Dr. Schultz studied at Wesleyan College in Macon, GA earning a BA in 2006, having double majored in studio art and art history. She went on to earn a Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) and an EdS degree, in 2009 and 2010 respectively, from Georgia College in Milledgeville, GA. She then earned her PhD in curriculum and instruction from Mercer University in Macon, GA in 2017.
Dr. Schultz is a native of Abbeville, LA and is very excited to be returning to Acadiana.
Daniel DiCaprio earned his MFA in Metal Design from East Carolina University and a BS in Art Education from Nazareth College. Before coming to UL Lafayette, DiCaprio ran a studio practice, worked as a professional goldsmith and taught Jewelry and Metalsmithing at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, VA.
DiCaprio’s work is represented by Charon Kransen Arts in NYC. Through this gallery he has shown at the SOFA exhibitions since 2008. That same year at SOFA Chicago he was the emerging artist lecturer sponsored by the Society of North American Goldsmiths. In 2013 he was the recipient of the Peter S. Reed Grant, an invitational arts grant designed to help emerging artist further their studio practices. His work has been shown in exhibitions nationally and internationally in Japan, South Korea, Italy, Spain and Germany.
(Courtesy: University of Louisiana at Lafayette)
ANA MOUYIS is an Illustrator, Animator, Filmmaker, and Educator currently based in Lafayette, Louisiana. She grew up in Nicosia, Cyprus and spent much of her adult life living and working in New York City where she earned a BFA in Illustration from Parsons the New School for Design (2009) and an MFA in Animation and Motion Arts from Pratt institute (2016). She recently relocated to Louisiana to begin working as a Assistant Professor of Computer Animation at the University of Louisiana, Lafayette.
Since 2009 she has worked as freelance commercial artist specializing in illustration and animation, some of her clients have included: The New York Times, The Boston Globe, EMI Records, Interscope Records, Novartis, Pepsico, and Rebecca Taylor. In 2014 she co-founded Circle Line Projects, an experimental production company.
In addition to client work, she directs and animates independent short films. The first of which, “Pussy!” was released in 2015 and has gone on to appear in a number of film festivals and received an ADC Awards Bronze Cube. Her most recent film "Dahlia" premiered at Animafest in her home town of Nicosia, Cyprus in June 2017, where it won Best National Animation and has since gone on to appear in film festivals all over the world.
Assistant Professor Scot Sinclair received a M.F.A. in Painting from Southern Illinois University Carbondale, and his B.F.A. with Honors in Painting from the Grays School of Art Aberdeen, Scotland. Upon leaving his undergraduate studies Scot was selected for the eight person Phillips International Auctioneers “Young Scottish Painters” Exhibition in Edinburgh, Scotland. Since then he has exhibited in national and international juried exhibitions, and was one of four artists shortlisted for Aspect Painting Prize Winners Exhibition held at the Fleming Collection, London 2010.
Scot teaches the figure drawing courses within the Department and is co-coordinator of Foundations, has taught in the University Study Abroad Paris Program in 2012, and participated in a residency at the Santa Fe Art Institute in 2010.
Professor Steven Breaux in the Department of Visual Art received an M.F.A. in Studio Art, Painting, from Florida State University, graduating Summa Cum Laude in 1994. Among the awards he received was the $10,000 University Fellowship Award. He was a member of the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society and as an undergraduate was chosen for Who’s Who in American Colleges and Universities. He has received various state grants and awards.
In 2006, his piece Black Wind received the Purdue University Galleries Purchase Award from the juried exhibition Sixty Square Inches, 15th. Biennial North American Small Print Competition. He has been accepted in numerous national and international juried exhibitions including England and South Korea.
His artwork involves painting, drawing, photography, and various digital processes He is currently involved in a variety of projects including a16 year collaboration with Kathy Reed that focuses on several bodies of work dealing with various aspects of South Louisiana: its history, land, language, the Napoleonic Code, its various cultures and its flora and fauna. Their media and processes have combined painting on silk, canvas and paper, drawing, photo, video and an extensive use of ritual and documentation using the earth as process and medium.
He is currently teaching Drawings II and IV and among his many responsibilities is co-coordinator of Foundations. As a writer, he has published in exhibition catalogues and various print journals. He was an art critic for a local newspaper and is working on a book dealing with quantum physics, the art process, and the role of the artist He is engaged in the local community in various capacities including as a musician.
Professor John Gargano is a ceramic sculptor who became head of the ceramics program at UL Lafayette in 2000. He has exhibited work at museums and galleries in 14 states and received awards and artist fellowships in Ohio and Louisiana. Gargano earned a B.F.A. with Honors from the Center for Creative Studies in 1992 and a M.F.A. from the Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio.
John has taught in the Studies Abroad Paris Program at UL Lafayette, participated in a residency at Watershed in 2011, given numerous workshops and lectures at regional universities and at Hartwick College in Onenonta, New York, and the Ohio State University. His grant writing efforts funded the creation of an outdoor kiln yard for the ceramics area at UL Lafayette. He built and maintains a 1200 square foot personal studio in Broussard, Louisiana, spends free time playing music with his band, and is often in Costa Rica surfing.
(Courtesy: Hilliard Art Museum)
Jeffrey Lush is an Assistant Professor and Co-Coordinator for the Graphic Design concentration in the Department of Visual Arts. Mr. Lush joined the UL, Lafayette faculty Fall, 2004. Prior to taking a position in academia, he worked in Boulder, Colorado developing brands for new businesses in the Boulder/Denver corridor. He continues to work on projects with his own design firm, Lush Graphics. Projects range from brand management, print and web design, proprietary typography and limited edition prints and posters. Mr. Lush's research includes historical studies in modernist design practices during the Industrial Revolution and the effect of mass media upon a wide audience.
Lush contributes design to several collaborative efforts, notably work with Preservation Hall Jazz Band in New Orleans and the Great Oil Leak Poster Project. Mr. Lush has exhibited posters nationally and internationally as well as presented at national conferences, giving presentations on graphic design and design history. His poster work is held in international collections and he is a nationally awarded designer from the American Advertising Federation for motion graphics. Lush has served on the board of the Acadiana Advertising Federation as Chair of Educational Outreach and Programs Chair. He has also served on the New Orleans chapter of AIGA, as the Design Awards Chair, as well as served as the faculty adviser for the student group. Professor Lush received a BFA in 1998 and his MFA in 2003 from Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado.
Professor Yeon Choi received a B.F.A. and an M.A. in Painting from Ewha University in Seoul, Korea. She also had received an M.F.A. in Computer Arts from University of Massachusetts at Amherst in USA. Currently, Yeon Choi is an Associate Professor in the Department of Visual Arts at UL Lafayette.
She was awarded the Artist Fellowship from the State of Louisiana in 2003. Other awards include Best Animation Prize from Rome International Film Festival, Atlanta, GA (2008), Best Animation Award from Blue Plum Animation Festival, Johnson City, TN (2006), Best Advocacy Award from San Francisco's Women's Film Festival, San Francisco, CA (2006), Second Prize from Beecher Center Digital Animation Competition at Youngstown, Ohio (2003), and more.
Her films includes Confessions (1997), Media, Metaphor, Non-locality (2001), Objects of my obsessions (2002), The Labyrinth (2002), The Fly (2003), Sandstorm (2003), The Thief (2004), The Destroyed Room (2005), Ever After (2006), Learning to Play How High the Moon (2006) and After Swann (2012).
(Courtesy: Hilliard Art Museum)
Jamie Baldridge was born in 1975 in a small town in the Deep South. He received both his BFA and MFA in Photography from Louisiana State University. He is currently Associate Professor of New Media + Digital Art.
His work, which explores the intersection between technology and fine art, can be found in many collections such as the Ogden Museum of Southern Art, the Rare Books Collection of the Library of Congress, Cornell University, Louisiana State University's Hill collection, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, University of Notre Dame, University of Colorado at Boulder, Rhode Island Institute of Technology, as well as numerous private collections. His work and writings have been featured in numerous publications such as ArtNews, Harper's Bazaar, Contemporary Art China, Elle, PublicArt, Photo+, Zoom Photographic Arts, and Oxford American in addition to NPR’s All Tech Considered, BBC 2, and in the Documentary Darkly Digital and Divine.
Baldridge is represented by Carbon 12 Gallery in Dubai, Camara Oscura Gallery in Madrid, Spain, Richard Goodall Gallery in the United Kingdom, Morren Galleries in the Netherlands, and Modernbook Gallery in San Francisco. His work is carried nationally and internationally by a number of other galleries and has been exhibited widely in the United States, the United Kingdom, Europe, India, and the Middle East.
He is the author of two books, the 2008 Lucie Award winning The Everywhere Chronicles and Almost Fiction in 2012.
Hagit Barkai received an MFA from Penn State University in 2008, a B.A. in Philosophy from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 2004, and studied drawing and painting at the Jerusalem Studio School in Jerusalem, Israel. Her paintings, drawings, prints and photo-performances explore demands addressed to the body in private and public spaces. Barkai is the recipient of the College Art Association Professional Development Fellowship in Visual Arts in 2008. Her work has been exhibited nationally and internationally. Previously, she had taught at Davidson College, Houston Community College and Pennsylvania State University.
A native of Birmingham, Alabama, Assistant Professor Kevin Hagan received his M.F.A. from Louisiana State University and B.F.A. from Auburn University. Currently Hagan co-coordinates of the Graphic Design concentration in the Department of Visual Arts and teaches foundation art courses as well as junior and senior level graphic design courses. Prior to accepting a position at UL Lafayette, Hagan was a multi-media and print designer for the Media Production Group at Auburn University where he oversaw the design and the development of both distant learning materials as well as various advertising and promotional collateral.
Hagan's research includes logo design and development, advertising, and package design. Additionally, he creates poster designs for various social causes every year. Some of his most recent work has been in designing a nonpartisan political poster encouraging people of all ages to vote, and an identity design for a regional tourist shop that celebrates the Cajun community.