Researching Third Parties

This guide is to assist students in Professor Jami Rush's UNIV100 classes.

U.S. Government Documents & Information

To search for U.S. government documents, go to these guides:

Sandy Himel | shimel@louisiana.edu | (337) 482-1174

When evaluating online resources, there are five things to look for:

Why should you trust the person that gave you this information? Is it from a credible source?

Is the website up to date? Is the information in your article current with events and technology?

Is the website professionally designed, or does it look like a personal blog? (Note: sometimes the look of websites can be deceiving)

Is the information presented in a balanced, objective manner? Is the author trying to sway you in some way?

Can you find the information you need in the website easily? Does the website direct you to places to find more information?

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present.

Reference and User Services Association (RUSA)
A helpful guide to finding - and evaluating - primary sources found on the web.
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Purdue's always useful online writing lab contains all the information on citations and style questions you will ever need.
The Elements of Style (Dupré Library Catalog)
Print book; this copy is in the Reference section and will always be available for use in Dupré Library
The Elements of Style (Bartleby.com)
1918 edition; does not include E.B. White's revisions or additions
The Elements of Style (Internet Archive)
1920 edition; does not include E.B. White's revisions or additions

Google Scholar
From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources. Google Scholar provides links to Dupré Library to check for availability. Include 'library.louisiana.edu' in the library links section of your Google Scholar settings to automatically link to full-text through the library.