Edith Garland Dupré Library Electronic Resources Collection Development Policy

The purpose of this policy is to direct the addition, maintenance and removal of electronic resources to the existing library collection of Edith Garland Dupré Library.

Introduction

The mission of Dupré Library is to support fully the instructional and research programs of the University through the provision of informational services and access to printed materials, multimedia and electronic resources. Electronic resources are an integral part of the collection of the library. The purpose of this policy is to direct the addition, maintenance and removal of electronic resources to the existing library collection.

Scope of Resources to Be Considered

For the purpose of this document, "electronic resources" are defined as resources that require computer access. Any electronic resources may be considered. Examples include, but are not limited to:

  • Online periodical database
  • Online reference database
  • eJournals
  • eBooks
  • Government information
  • Data files
  • Websites

Data may be accessible online or on locally recorded media, such as CD-Rom or DVD.


Last updated 8/06/13. © Copyright 2013 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Selection Criteria

In keeping with Dupré Library's mission, priority is given to electronic resources that support the over-all curriculum of the University and the instructional objectives of the specific disciplines. As such, the library does not purchase productivity software unless it is needed to retrieve information stored in an electronic resource that is owned by the library. The library does not purchase entertainment software unrelated to curricular needs.

Content is the primary consideration for purchase of electronic resources, as it is for other Library resources. However, additional consideration should be given to quality, access, interface, pricing, technical support and licensing when selecting electronic resources.

Not all resources meet all of the criteria, but preference is given to those that have the majority of these characteristics.


Coverage and quality

  • The electronic resource should support the instructional and research needs of the University.
  • The electronic resource should add depth or breadth to the existing collection, in accord with the existing collection development policy.
    Content should be maintained and updated on a timely basis.
  • The information should be accurate and authoritative. This is evidenced by author or journal reputation and/or scholarly and peer review.
  • The electronic resource should have value-added advantage over comparable print resources. Not only should the electronic resource have all of the content of the original print material, but it should also include features such as the ability to search by keyword, download content, etc.
  • Full text availability is preferred when appropriate for the resource.


Access

  • The library prefers agreements which allow access from remote networked locations by authentication through a proxy server.
  • Preferably, electronic resources should be hosted remotely and available via the Web.
  • Electronic resources should be accessible through the library’s catalog and website.
  • The confidentiality and privacy of all library patrons should be protected.


Interface

  • The interface should be intuitive, with clear layout and design. Preference should be given to an interface that is consistent with the library’s current holdings.
  • The search software should be flexible, efficient and appropriate to user expertise. Features should include tools that enable users to refine searches and retrieve relevant results.
  • The interface should comply with current Americans with Disabilities Act regulations.


Pricing

  • The cost of the resource should be reasonably in line with projected use.
  • Purchase of the electronic resources should not be contingent on the subscription or purchase of a print product.
  • The subscription fee should include permanent rights to use the information that has been purchased, even if the subscription is canceled.
  • The library should consider the value of purchasing versus subscribing to a resource depending on the budgetary environment and other current factors.
  • The cost of access points and number of simultaneous users should be appropriate to the projected use of the resource.
  • Consortia agreements may receive special consideration.


Technical Support

  • Preference is given to reputable, reliable vendors with long-term viability.
  • The vendor should offer a demonstration and/or trial of the product before purchase, if requested.
  • The vender should provide customer and technical support that is timely, efficient and accurate. This includes staff training, if desired.
  • The vendor should demonstrate timely notification in product changes or down-time.
  • Additionally, the vendor should provide support, if necessary, to implement and maintain access.
  • The vendor should evaluate and upgrade the platform as needed to reflect the changing environment of the Internet.
  • The vendor should make usage statistics available.


Licensing

  • Normally, there should be provisions in the agreement that all patrons of the library can use the resource, including members of the public. Under exceptional circumstances, a resource which limits use by password or some other device to certain members of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette community may be purchased.
  • Fair use, as defined by United States copyright law, should be permitted within the context of any agreement. Preferably, the fair use provisions should include printing, sharing and downloading within copyright requirements. Ideally, provisions should be made for Interlibrary Loan privileges.
  • The license should mandate few, or reasonable, restrictions on the number of users, simultaneous users or points of access.
  • Strong preference should be given to agreements that allow the library to have access to, or own the content of, the last-held version of the database in perpetuity.
  • A license agreement should state clearly what access rights are being acquired by the licensee—permanent use of the content or access rights only for a defined period of time. If the library does not have the right to make a preservation copy, the license agreement should specify who has archival responsibility for the resource and under what conditions the library or its users may access the archival copy.
  • With the exception of resources jointly negotiated with the LOUIS consortia, agreements with electronic resource vendors are negotiated by the Dean of Libraries and Head of E-Resources and Serials Department. Contracts are maintained by the Head of E-Resources and Serials Department.
  • A license agreement should not hold the library liable for unauthorized uses of the licensed resources by its users, as long as the library has attempted to notify its users of use restrictions.
  • The terms of the license should be considered fixed when both parties sign the agreement. If the terms are subject to change (ie. content coverage or access method), the agreement should require the licensor to notify the library in a timely manner before the changes are made and should permit either party to terminate the agreement if changes are not acceptable.
  • A license agreement should provide termination rights that are agreeable to each party.

Last updated 8/06/13. © Copyright 2013 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Selection & Responsiblities

The Electronic Resources Committee is responsible for making electronic resource collection development recommendations for purchase with general Library funds. The membership is comprised of the Head of E-Resources and Serials Department, the Head of Collection Development, the Head of Information Technology and Web Services, the Head of Cataloging, the Head of Research, the Distance Learning/Virtual Services Librarian, the Instructional Services Librarian and a Research Librarian. The committee seeks additional input from librarians, faculty, staff, students and departmental faculty.

Acquisitions Process

Funding

Funds are administered as part of the general Library budget and are not charged to academic departments.


Deselection of electronic resources

Deselection of electronic resources are determined on usage statistics generated from data collection methods, the availability of a better product based on the criteria of this policy or the current product becoming obsolete or damaged.


Last updated 8/06/13. © Copyright 2013 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.