Edith Garland Dupré Library Annual Caffery Competition: Call for Student Papers 2020

The annual Caffery Competition honors the most outstanding original student scholarly paper written using special collections materials from Dupré Library.

Rubric

University of Louisiana at Lafayette Logo

Edith Garland Dupré Library - Caffery Competition Rubric

 
Below Expectations
Meets Expectations
Exceeds Expectations
Distinguish Sources
• Demonstrates confusion in distinguishing between primary and secondary resources
• Demonstrates an understanding of primary and secondary resources
• Demonstrates an understanding of primary and secondary resources and uses them strategically
Depth of Use of Sources
• Uses more secondary than primary resources & only 1 from Special Collections used minimally;
• Includes some resources that are irrelevant to topic or not useful to the focus of the paper
• Uses equal number of secondary and primary resources with 2-4 from Special Collections or cites a few collections frequently and some archive sources used in multiple ways
• Includes a majority of resources that are useful and tie to the focus of the paper
• Uses a greater number of primary than secondary resources with 5+ from Special Collections and cites a few collections extensively and has a clear and purposeful intention for their use
• Includes excellent and varied resources included to support the analysis of the topic
Structure/
Organization
• Establishes organization of the document but fails to stay within the organized structure, ideas occasionally fail to make sense together, reader is limited in identifying a line of reasoning and loses interest, missing abstract
• Establishes a clear structure and organization of the document, ideas grouped logically and sequenced within and across the paper with minimal waiver from the design, includes abstract not more than 250 words
• Establishes a strong organization for the paper, including sub-sections/mini theses relating to the major thesis providing strength to the argument, includes abstract not more than 250 words
Content
• Information supports a central purpose but analysis is vague or not evident..
• Information provides reasonable support for a central purpose or argument and displays evidence of a basic analysis of a significant topic
• Balanced presentation of relevant and legitimate information that clearly supports a central purpose or argument and shows a thoughtful, in-depth analysis of a significant topic.
Communication
• Contains errors in spelling, sentence structure, grammar, paragraphing but paper is readable
• Contains clear paragraphs, topic sentences and transitions are effective, correct spelling, some grammar errors but do not interfere with the argument of the paper
• Contains clear paragraphs, effective use of sentence structure, spelling, and grammar to support the argument and includes strong topic sentences and transitions throughout the paper
Citations
• Shows limited understanding of proper use of citations, footnotes, and discipline-required bibliography format – 4+ errors
• Shows adequate understanding of proper use of citations, footnotes, and discipline-required bibliography format – no more than 2 -3 errors
• Shows a strong understanding of the proper use of citations including complicated citations, footnotes, and discipline-required bibliography format – 1 or less errors.


revised Spring 2019