Resources for Biology

Here is a list of journals the library subscribes to that might help you find what you need. You can easily pull these journals up by searching their name in the library's Publication Finder.

• American Journal of Botany
• American Journal of Physiology (Consolidated)
• American Journal of Physiology/ Lung Cellular & Molecular Physiology
• American Journal of Physiology/Endocrinology & Metabolism
• American Journal of Physiology/Gastrointestinal & Liver Physiology
• American Journal of Physiology/Heart & Circulatory
• American Journal of Physiology/Regulatory, Integrative & Comparative Physiology
• American Journal of Physiology/Renal Physiology
• American Journal of Physiology: Cell Physiology
• American Naturalist Supplement
• American Naturalist, The
• Animal Biology
• Annals of Botany
• Annals of the Entomological Society of America
• Annual Review of Marine Science
• Applied & Environmental Microbiology
• Aquatic Microbial Ecology
• Auk The : Ornithological Advances and Condor: Ornithological Applications Combo Subscription
• Auk, The: Ornithological Advances
• Avian Diseases
• Bioessays
• Biological Bulletin
• Bioscience
• Biotechnic & Histochemistry
• Biotechnology & Applied Biochemistry
• Biotropica
• Bulletin of Marine Science
• Canadian Journal of Zoology
• Cell
• Condor: Ornithological Applications
• Conservation Biology
• Copeia
• Crustaceana
• Cryptogamie Algologie
• Diversity & Distributions
• Ecological Applications
• Ecological Monographs
• Ecological Research
• Ecology (Ecological Society of America)
• Environmental Entomology
• Environmental Toxicology & Chemistry
• Estuaries & Coasts
• Ethology
• European Journal of Phycology
• Evolution
• Fisheries
• Fisheries Science
• Frontiers in Ecology & the Environment
• Functional Ecology
• Genetics
• Genetics Research
• Global Ecology & Biogeography
• Heredity (Site License)
• Herpetologica
• Herpetologica and Herpetological Monographs Combo
• Herpetological Monographs
• Herpetological Review
• IBIS: International Journal of Avian Science
• Infection & Immunity
• Integrated Environmental Assessment & Management
• Integrative & Comparative Biology
• International Journal of Plant Sciences (Single Site)
• Invertebrate Biology
• Journal of Animal Ecology
• Journal of Applied Ecology
• Journal of Bacteriology
• Journal of Biogeography
• Journal of Cell Biology
• Journal of Cell Science
• Journal of Crustacean Biology
• Journal of Ecology
• Journal of Economic Entomology
• Journal of Entomological Science
• Journal of Evolutionary Biology
• Journal of Field Ornithology
• Journal of General Physiology
• Journal of Herpetology
• Journal of Immunology
• Journal of Mammalogy
• Journal of Marine Research
• Journal of Molecular Evolution
• Journal of Morphology
• Journal of Parasitology
• Journal of Phycology
• Journal of Plant Growth Regulation
• Journal of Wildlife Management
• Journal of Zoology
• Limnology & Oceanography (ASLO)
• Limnology & Oceanography: Bulletin (ASLO)
• Limnology & Oceanography: Methods (ASLO)
• Marine & Freshwater Research
• Marine Biology
• Marine Ecology Progress Series
• Microbial Ecology
• Microbiology & Molecular Biology Reviews
• Molecular & Cellular Biology
• Molecular Biology & Evolution
• Molecular Ecology
• Molecular Ecology Resources
• Molecular Microbiology
• Mucosal Immunology (Site License)
• Nature
• Nature Climate Change (Site License)
• Nature Neuroscience (Site License)
• North American Birds
• North American Journal of Aquaculture
• North American Journal of Fisheries Management
• Oecologia
• Oikos: A Journal of Ecology
• Parasitology
• Phycologia
• Physiological & Biochemical Zoology
• Physiological Reviews
• Plant & Cell Physiology
• Plant Biology
• Plant Cell
• Plant Journal, The
• Plant Physiology
• Plant Physiology & Plant Cell Combo Subscription
• Planta: An International Journal of Plant Biology
• Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the US
• Proceedings of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences
• Quarterly Review of Biology
• Society for the Study of Amphibians & Reptiles Institutional Regular Membership
• Systematic Biology
• Teaching Tools in Plant Biology
• Transactions of the American Fisheries Society
• Virulence
• Water Resources Research
• Zoological Journal of the Linnean Society

Here is a list of databases that might help you in your research you can access the databases and read detailed descriptions of them on the library's Database page.

• Agricola
• Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern U.S., 1789-1879
• Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western U.S., 1800-1878
• AHFS Consumer Medication Information
• Alt HealthWatch
• Biological Abstracts
• BioMed Central
• Environment Complete
• Science & Technology Collection
• Science Advances
• Science Online
• Science Signaling
• ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
• Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
• SciFinder
• Web of Science Core Collection
• Zoological Record

What does "peer-reviewed" mean?

A peer-reviewed article is reviewed by subject experts before being approved for publication in order to ensure that it meets specific criteria and standards. Journals that use peer review in their selection process are generally considered to be of higher quality and more trustworthy than those that don’t use the peer review process.

How do I find peer-reviewed articles?

You can find peer-reviewed articles by searching our databases. Most databases give you the option to select for peer-reviewed articles when conducting your search. Check the "Peer Reviewed" box to ensure all the articles in your search results come from peer-reviewed journals.