Skip to Main Content

Library Services FAQ & About COVID-19

Answers to frequently asked questions about library services during this time as well as information & resources related to the pandemic.

Welcome

This guide contains information about common library services and their availability during this time as well as information and resources related to the pandemic.

Current Availability of Library Services

Service / Department Available? Notes
Physical access to the library Yes

Open for the semester. This is subject to change per the Governor's orders or University requirements. Face coverings are required in all areas of the library and everyone is expected to practice appropriate physical distancing. The back entrance is open. Jazzman's Café & Bakery is open.

Check-out of books and other library materials Yes Books and materials may be borrowed and reserved as usual.
Electronic Resources Yes The library’s digital collections are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and include research databases, electronic journals, and full-text eBooks. Authentication with a ULID is required. Helpful guides to resources and tutorials can be found at the Library's research guides.
Research Assistance Yes In-person at the Reference Desk, through the Ask Us! Reference Desk chat, text (337) 205-7558, call (337) 482-6030, or email reference@louisiana.edu. Appointments are also available via email to set up calls or Zoom meetings.
Appointments with Librarians Yes Make a virtual appointment with a librarian by emailing reference@louisiana.edu. Faculty preparing for online instruction may consult with a subject specialist librarian in their area.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Yes Books and journal articles, book chapters, theses, and dissertations as well as print materials. Submit your requests using ILLIad. The arrival of materials will depend on closures at other libraries.
Library Class Instruction Yes The library instruction team will work with any instructor to help meet research and information literacy student learning objectives. Whether the class is in-person, hybrid, or online, the library offers a variety of pandemic-flexible options for synchronous and asynchronous library instruction and will design support for specific research assignments. Email your library instruction request to learn.library@louisiana.edu.
Special Collections Yes Research services are provided remotely, including duplication and digitization of materials in the collections. Research assistance is available via email speccoll@louisiana.edu, through the Ask Us! Special Collections chat, by phone at (337) 482-6031, and scheduled face-to-face appointments.
Ernest J Gaines Center Yes Direct all questions to gainescenter@louisiana.edu or cheylon.woods@louisiana.edu, or call (337) 482-1848. Visits are by appointment only.
Government Documents Yes Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Eagle Logo Access to browse physical material is restricted at this time. Ask a Librarian for assistance if needing material. Access to online U.S. Government Information and Federal depository publications are available via the library website, research guides, online catalog, and Ask a Librarian. Research assistance is available at the Reference Desk and through Ask a Librarian during these hours of operation. Depository Library staff are available by email at fdlgovinfo@louisiana.edu, by phone at (337) 482-1174, and by scheduled appointments, either in-person or remotely.
Cajun & Creole Music Collection (CCMC) Yes Direct all questions to ccmc@louisiana.edu or call (337) 482-1174. Visits are by appointment only.
Reference Online Center (ROC) Lab Yes Open during building hours. Located on the 1st Floor of the library adjacent to the Reference Desk. Reduced in size to maintain social distancing restrictions. Printing is available.
STEP Lab Yes Open during building hours. Located on the 1st and 2nd floors of the library. Reduced in size to maintain social distancing restrictions. Printing is available.
Grad Computer Lab Yes This lab, located on the 1st floor, is available for use by one Graduate Student at a time, through check out at the Circulation Desk.
Library Equipment Yes Copiers and scanners are available for users.
Group Study Rooms No Group Rooms, located on the 1st & 2nd floors, are available for use through check out at the Circulation Desk.
Individual Carrels with 2-hour limit Yes These rooms, located on the 1st & 2nd floors, are available for use through check out at the Circulation Desk.
Lactation Room Yes This room is available for use through check-out at the Circulation Desk. Located on the 1st Floor of the library.
Material Donations No Due to space constraints, Dupré Library is currently not accepting physical item donations, such as books.

Virtual Tutoring Services

Writing Center, Department of English
The Writing Center is currently closed for face-to-face consultations. To utilize the Online Writing Center, visit their enrollment page on Moodle, then choose “Enroll Me” and the course will begin to show on your Moodle dashboard. You will receive further information about the online tutoring process once you are enrolled in the course. Visit the The Writing Center for more information.

The Learning Center, Academic Success Center
The Learning Center is offering support to students through free online meetings via Zoom. Visit the The Learning Center for more information on their services or to schedule an appointment.

Online Program Students
Students enrolled in online and hybrid courses or programs have access to online tutoring services. If you are enrolled in a course that was online or hybrid prior to March 18, 2020, check your Moodle dashboard for a course labeled Tutoring Help. Follow the instructions in that course to access tutoring services.

Math Lab, Department of Mathematics
The Math Lab (located in Lee Hall) is operating remotely until further notice. Graduate student tutors are available to provide help for a number of math and statistics classes. To view the list of classes available for tutoring or to request help, visit the The Math Lab.

Map of Public Library Wi-Fi Locations in Louisiana

LOUIS: The Louisiana Library Network worked with Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) data, the state library, and public libraries across the state to build a master list of public library locations and details about their Wi-Fi access.

Clicking on a pin will provide location details and access notes and restrictions for each site. The Wi-Fi is available in the parking lot 24/7. Most access points are open to anyone agreeing to terms and conditions.

LOUIS is continuing to update the map as new information comes in.