Library FAQ During COVID-19 & COVID-19 Resources

Answers to frequently asked questions about library services during this time as well as information & resources related to the pandemic.

Welcome

This guide contains information about common library services and their availability during this time as well as information and resources related to the pandemic.

View our Summer 2021 Services.


Dupré Library Hours—Summer Hours


Summer Intersession

May 8 - June 6, 2021

Monday - Thursday |
7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Friday |
7:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Saturday - Sunday |
CLOSED


Summer Semester

June 7 - July 30, 2021

Monday - Thursday |
7:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Friday |
7:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Saturday |
10:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Sunday |
2:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.

For closures and hours for library departments, see our Hours page.

Current Availability of Library Services

Service / Department Available? Notes
Physical access to the library Yes

Open at 75% capacity for the Summer semester. This is subject to change per the Governor's orders or University requirements. Face coverings are required in all areas of the library and everyone is expected to practice appropriate physical distancing. The back entrance and Jazzman's Café & Bakery are closed at this time.

Check-out of books and other library materials Yes Books and materials may be borrowed and reserved as usual. Print materials housed in Dupré Library can be placed on hold to be delivered curbside in front of the Library. Use this form to request print materials.
Electronic Resources Yes The library’s digital collections are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, and include research databases, electronic journals, and full-text eBooks. Authentication with a ULID is required. Helpful guides to resources and tutorials can be found at the Library's research guides.
Research Assistance Yes In-person at the Reference Desk, through the Ask Us! Reference Desk chatbox, text (337) 205-7558, call (337) 482-6030, or email reference@louisiana.edu. Appointments are also available via email to set up calls or Zoom meetings.
Appointments with Librarians Yes Make a virtual appointment with a librarian by emailing reference@louisiana.edu. Faculty preparing for online instruction may consult with a subject specialist librarian in their area.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Yes Books and journal articles, book chapters, theses, and dissertations as well as print materials. Submit your requests using ILLIad. The arrival of materials will depend on closures at other libraries. Print materials can be picked up via our curbside delivery service.
Library Class Instruction Yes Librarians are offering information literacy sessions to support courses. The library is offering the option for asynchronous or synchronous virtual instructional sessions. Virtual workshops will also be offered. Email requests for virtual library instruction to jen@louisiana.edu.
Special Collections Yes Research services are provided remotely, including duplication and digitization of materials in the collections. Research assistance is available via email speccoll@louisiana.edu, through the Ask Us! Special Collections chat box, by phone at (337) 482-6031, and schedule face-to-face appointments.
Ernest J Gaines Center Yes Direct all questions to gainescenter@louisiana.edu, cheylon.woods@louisiana.edu, or jordan.richardson@louisiana.edu or call (337) 482-1848. Visits are by appointment only.
Government Documents Yes Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) Eagle Logo Access to browse physical material is restricted at this time. Please ask the Reference Desk for assistance if needing material. Access to online U.S. Government Information and Federal depository publications are available via our website, research guides, online catalog, and Ask a Librarian. Research assistance is available at the Reference Desk and through the Ask a Librarian service during these hours of operation. Depository Library staff are available by email at fdlgovinfo@louisiana.edu, by phone at (337) 482-1174, and by scheduled appointments, either in-person or remotely.
Cajun & Creole Music Collection (CCMC) Yes Direct all questions to ccmc@louisiana.edu or call (337) 482-1174. Visits are by appointment only.
Reference Online Center (ROC) Lab Yes Open during building hours. Located on the 1st floor of the library adjacent to the Reference Desk. Reduced in size to maintain social distancing restrictions. Printing is available.
STEP Lab Yes Open during building hours. Located on the 1st and 2nd floors of the library. Reduced in size to maintain social distancing restrictions. Printing is available.
Grad Computer Lab Yes Open during building hours. Located on the 1st floor of the library.
Library Equipment Yes The copiers and scanners are available for use.
Group Study Rooms No These rooms are closed indefinitely. Located on the 1st and 2nd floors of the library.
Individual Study Rooms Yes Open during building hours. Located on the 2nd floor of the library.
Lactation Room Yes Open during building hours. Located on the 1st floor of the library.
Material Donations No Due to space constraints, Dupré Library is currently not accepting physical item donations, such as books.