Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

Welcome to Dupré Library Research Guides
Research assistance, subject guides, and useful resources compiled by your friendly Dupré Library librarians!

  Search: 
 
 

Dupré News

Get the latest news!

picture of newspaper and keyboard

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

What's New from Credo Online Reference Service

Credo Logo

Credo Online Reference Service provides over three million full text entries on all disciplines from reference works including online dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, guides and more. It also includes additional content from other sources such as EBSCO, JSTOR, and Google Books. Credo is updated regularly.



 

Credo's Mind Map is a brainstorming tool to find related terms and expand your search.



 

Check out these titles added to the Credo Collection in December:

Cover Art
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries - Roland Greene (Editor); Stephen Cushman (Editor)
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the history and practice of poetry in major regional, national, and diasporic literatures and language traditions around the globe.

Cover Art
50 Psychology Classics - Tom Butler-Bowdon
In a journey spanning 50 books, hundreds of ideas and over a century, 50 Psychology Classics looks at some of the most intriguing questions relating to what motivates us, what makes us feel and act in certain ways, how our brains work, and how we create a sense of self.

Cover Art
BCS Glossary of Computing - BCS Academy Glossary Working Party (Editorial Coordinator)
The BCS Glossary is the most authoritative and comprehensive work of its kind on the market today. This unrivalled study aid and reference tool has newly updated entries and is divided into themed sections making it more than just a list of definitions.

Browse By Group

Engineering
This is a group of guides created for the College of Engineering.
Library Management
Contains documents, administration and operation relating to Dupre Library.
Nursing
Guides that are within the disciplines of the College of Nursing.
 
 

Dupré Library Research Guides V2





Our Research Guides are getting
a brand new look & feel!

The new guides will launch on
Monday, December 11th.

Check back for the change.





 

Library Hours

Fall Finals 2017 Library Hours

Library Hours & Directions

* Hours subject to change. Call 337-482-6025 to confirm hours.

.
 

Study Cubicles for Students

study cubicles

You asked, we listened. Individual study cubicles are now available to undergraduate students on the second floor of the library. Cubicles are assigned on a first come, first served basis, and will be subject to a two hour time limit as demand requires.

Stop by the Circulation Desk to get a key, and find more information at http://library.louisiana.edu/services/circulation-services/other-services.

Guides

Show: Featured  |  Popular  |  Recent  |  All
Loading
 

Off-Campus Access to Library Databases

Remote access
Most of the databases can be accessed from off-campus. If prompted, enter a UCS CLID and password to access a database. To obtain a UCS CLID and password, faculty, staff, and students may visit the UL Lafayette Help Desk.

Having trouble accessing library databases from off-campus?
If you are unable to access the library databases remotely, please call the Reference Desk at (337)482-6030. When the library is closed (hours of operation) and multiple databases from different providers (for example, JSTOR and Academic Search Complete) are unavailable from off campus, the UL Lafayette Help Desk may be able to help you. Please contact them at ithelpdesk@louisiana.edu or (337)482-5516.

In addition, you may try the following steps:

  • Clear cookies & cache
  • Try using the Chrome browser.  Firefox has known issues with remote access
  • Make sure you are not using old bookmarks that lead to legacy library web pages whose URLs no longer function
  • Try opening a new window
  • Try rebooting your computer
  • Try using another device, if possible
 

About Edith Garland Dupré Library

Edith Garland Dupré Library is centrally situated on the main campus of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette at 400 E. St. Mary Blvd. The library is open to students, faculty, staff, and the public.  Dupré Library recently added its one millionth bound volume (The Nature of Things at Lake Martin: exploring the Wonder of Cypress Island Preserve in Southern Louisiana by Nancy Camel). 

Special collections include:  U.S. government documents, Louisiana government documents, materials pertaining to the history and culture of Acadiana (in the Jefferson Caffery Louisiana Room), the University Archives and Acadiana Manuscripts Collection and the Rare Book Collection. Funds from a BORSF grant received in 2003 have been used to establish the Cajun and Creole Music Collection, a collection of commercial recordings of Cajun, Creole, zydeco and swamp pop music. The CCMC shares a space on the third floor with the Ernest J. Gaines Center, an international center of scholarship on the author Ernest J. Gaines and his works.

Most of the library's collections are available online through the library's catalog. Patrons may access the catalog over the Internet from home, office, or campus. Educational materials housed in the Instructional Materials Center may be searched separately or in conjunction with a search of Dupré Library's holdings.

The librarians at Edith Garland Dupré Library are eager to help prepare students by providing them with the resources they need for their education.

 
 

Need Help?

Contact the Reference Desk:

  • Call us at (337)482-6030
  • Email us
  • Text us at (337)205-7558
  • Click button below for Live Chat

Live Chat Button

Please visit the library's Ask a Librarian page for more information.

 

Collaboration Stations for Students

collaboration station 
The library now offers three student Collaboration Stations on the second floor of the library across the hall from the STEP Lab. Large screen monitors and white boards allow groups to view information, work together on projects and create group presentations. Data drops ensure Internet access, and students can check out data cables and HDMI cables to connect laptops/tablets to monitors at the Circulation Desk.

The Collaboration Stations are funded by a STEP (Student Technology Enhancement Program) grant.
For more information, contact Susan Richard at smr@louisiana.edu.

Featured Librarian

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts
 

Description

Loading