Dupré Library provides resources and support to the University of Louisiana at Lafayette’s distance learning programs as directed by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. The Library ensures provision of and ready access to adequate library resources and services to support the courses, programs, and degrees offered; and provides comparable services to offsite students either by owning the needed materials, by providing electronic access, or by arranging formal borrowing agreements.
Dupré Library’s document and book delivery services provide distance learning students at UL Lafayette access to materials owned by the Library, but not readily available electronically. Distance learning students who wish to request materials not owned by Dupré Library may do so via Interlibrary Loan or through commercial document delivery providers.
The document and book delivery service is intended for UL Lafayette distance learning students only. Students who regularly attend classes on campus, or who live within a 705-- zip code, must retrieve items from the library in person.
Exceptions may be made for distance learning students with disabilities. Dupré Library works with the University’s Office of Disability Services to make alternate arrangements for students with disabilities on a case-by-case basis.
Document Delivery for Distance Learners
A. General Policies
- Dupré Library provides scans of materials that the library owns in print format only if the materials are not available electronically. Patrons should check the Library’s online catalog to determine if an article is available online through links to full-text databases or links to publishers’ websites.
- Scans of journal articles and book chapters will be sent via electronic delivery.
- Requests will be processed Monday-Thursday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., and Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. The Library attempts to process requests within 48 hours of receipt, excluding weekends and state and University holidays.
B. Copyright Compliance
Dupré Library’s document delivery services are in compliance with the rights and restrictions of the copyright law of the United States (§ 107, 108):
- The copy must be used for research, scholarship, or private study.
- Dupré Library will copy no more than a single chapter from a book, or two articles from any journal issue.
- Dupré Library includes the “Notice Warning Concerning Copyright Restrictions” on all copies and request forms.
Book Delivery Service for Distance Learners
Materials held by Dupré Library will be mailed to an eligible student’s current residence. Dupré Library incurs the cost of mailing materials; patrons are responsible for returning items to the Library by their due date. Patrons are also responsible for return postage, but Dupré Library supplies a return mailing label.
Materials that usually can be mailed:
- Government documents
- Technical reports
- Circulating copies of theses and dissertations
Materials that usually cannot be mailed:
- Non-circulating items
- Special collections materials
- Bound or single issue periodicals
- Materials on reserve
- Audio-visual materials
- Interlibrary loan materials
If a patron needs materials not owned by Dupré Library, he or she may request those items through Interlibrary Loan, but ILL books will not be mailed to distance learning students. Any materials ordered through ILL must be retrieved from the library in person due to their limited loan period.
Books are loaned to undergraduate students for a period of twenty-eight days and to graduate students for one semester. The loan period begins from the date the materials are mailed from the library. Renewals of library materials are allowed as long as there has been no request for that material by any other patron. Patrons may renew their materials online by logging in to the “My Account” feature in the library catalog.
Fines and penalties for overdue, lost or damaged books are as follows:
- Fines on books: $.25 per day, per book. Minimum fine is $.25 per book; maximum fine after 30 days is $15.00 per book. Fines must be paid with Cajun Cash.
- Lost books: Full replacement cost plus $15.00 service charge per book.
- Mutilation: Full repair or replacement cost plus $15.00 service charge per book. Individual pages are $5.00 per page.
Links to Guides
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Instruction Request Form
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Laptop Lending Service: Suspended
- A Guide to the Ernest J. Gaines Center
- Accounting Research
- American Music
- Bridging Cultures Bookshelf: Muslim Journeys
- Business Career Research
- Commercial Document Delivery Providers
- Comparing Citation Managers
- Creating Permalinks
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Annual Caffery Competition: Call for Student Papers 2017
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Collection Development Departmental Representatives and Departmental Librarians
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Distance Learning Appropriations Policy
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Distance Learning Document and Book Delivery Policy
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Electronic Resources Collection Development Policy
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Policy on Acceptable Use of E-Resources
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Signage Policy
- Edith Garland Dupré Library Social Media Policy
- Federal Depository Library for U.S. Government Information
- History 331: Colonial and Revolutionary America
- History 371: Environmental History of the Gulf South
- History 371: The Golden Age of Pirates and Piracy
- History 471: Oil and American History
- History 490: U.S. in the World in the 20th Century
- History 490: Women and Gender in Medieval Christianity
- History Graduate Research
- Integrating the Library into Moodle
- Introduction to Research
- Introduction to Research in History
- Legislative Research: Federal Resources
- Library Resources for Biology
- Open Educational Resources (OER)
- Researching Third Parties
- Resources for Chemical Engineering
- Resources for Chemistry
- Resources for Civil Engineering
- Resources for Communication Studies
- Resources for Counselor Education Students
- Resources for Distance Instructors
- Resources for Distance Learners
- Resources for Education
- Resources for Electrical and Computer Engineering
- Resources for French and Francophone Studies
- Resources for General Engineering
- Resources for Gifted Child Education
- Resources for Kinesiology
- Resources for Mechanical Engineering
- Resources for Nursing
- Resources for Petroleum Engineering
- Resources for Political Science
- Resources for Psychology
- Resources for Research
- Resources for RN-to-BSN Students
- Resources for Spanish
- Sociology 301
- The European Union
- United Nations
- University Records Management
- US Foreign Policy Resources
- Year in Review: Edith Garland Dupré Library