This is the "Recommended Websites" page of the "Resources for Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Jun 17, 2015 URL: http://louisiana.libguides.com/psychology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Recommended Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Recommended Websites

American Psychological Association: The website of the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States, whose "mission is to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people's lives." The site includes sections on Psychology Topics, APA Style and a Psychology Help Center.

Careers in Psychology: Includes an extensive database of careers in all fields of psychology as well as a collection of interviews with experts in the field.

Codes and Standards for Using Tests: Professional standards, codes and guidelines that address psychological testing and assessment practices. From the Buros Center for Testing.

National Institute of Mental Health: Includes educational resources, statistics, and a Health Topics section with information on mental illnesses, as well as information on funding opportunities for research

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Mental Health: Includes mental health information, data and statistics.

Resources for Teaching Social Psychology: An annotated collection of links to resources and ideas for teaching social psychology and related course. Organized by topic.

PsychWeb: Psychology related information for students and teachers

American Psychiatric Association: Website of the world's largest psychiatric organization whose "member physicians work together to ensure human care and effective treatment of all persons with mental disorfers." Includes information for students, physicians, researchers and the public.

Encyclopedia of Psychology: Provides access to information in numerous areas of psychology

 

Evaluating Non Scholarly or Web-Based Sources

There are several questions you can ask to determine whether a website is reliable and appropriate to use in your research.

Purpose: What is the purpose of the website? Is it to educate and inform, or to persuade or sell?

Authority: Who is the author of the website? What are her or his credentials?

Accuracy: Is the information presented factually accurate? Does the site list or link to its sources?

Timeliness: How current is the information? When was the site last updated?

Scope: Does the site present information in an overly simplistic way, or does it seem more deeply engaged with its subject matter?

 

Need Help?

Contact the Reference Desk:

  • Call us at (337)482-6030
  • Email us
  • Text us at (337)205-7558
  • Click button below for Live Chat

Live Chat Button

Please visit the library's Ask a Librarian page for more information.

 

Website Evaluator

Need help determining whether a website is reliable, relevant and appropriate for your research? Try this useful website evaluator.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip