This is the "Find Books" page of the "Sociology 301" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology 301  

Last Updated: Aug 2, 2017 URL: http://louisiana.libguides.com/sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Tips

There are several tips for research that will help you fine-tune your book search on the Dupré Library catalog.

KEYWORDS

Keywords search the entire catalog for anything related to the search term. Use keywords when searching for complex or specific terms, but not when searching for broad terms. Example: Acadiana

BROWSE

Browse searches a pre-existing alphabetical list of subjects, titles or authors. Use browse when searching for broad terms or individual titles or authors. 

 

Search the Library's Catalog

 

Selected Books

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Sociology - Edgar F. Borgatta (Editor); Rhonda J. V. Montgomery (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028648538
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Winner of the 1993 Dartmouth Medal, this classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion have been updated and expanded, and completely new articles have been written on topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.

Cover Art
International Encyclopedia of Social Sciences - William A. Darity
ISBN: 9780028659657
Publication Date: 2007-11-09

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America - Marc Stein (Editor)
ISBN: 9780684312613
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
This new three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History - Colin A. Palmer
ISBN: 9780028658162
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Users looking for authoritative and comprehensive information about black history, figures and accomplishments now have a defining and current reference to address their needs. The second edition of the Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History is a much-needed expansion of the 1996 classic and its 2000 supplement. As with the earlier publications, the second edition is aimed at high school and college students, as well as the general reader. Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges and comprise North America, Central and South America and the Caribbean. Readers can find comparative analyses of social movements, languages, religions and family structures in the context of an interdisciplinary framework that fills a substantial gap in studies of this genre. While many articles from the original set have updated content and bibliographies, almost half of the second edition is composed of completely new scholarship.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity - Dinah Shelton
ISBN: 9780028658476
Publication Date: 2004-10-29
Genocide has been with us since the beginning of history and is a key element of the study of world history at nearly every level. The most widely-studied and catastrophic examples are, however, historically close to the present day: the Nazi Holocaust, ``ethnic cleansing'' in Bosnia, tribal warfare in Rwanda and more. The Encyclopedia spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending these practices. It also delves into depictions and manifestations of the phenomenon, such as propaganda, sociological and philosophical explanations, literature and film.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion - Lindsay Jones
ISBN: 9780028657332
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Among Library Journal's picks of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach, while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition is the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of the classic work, making it relevant to the questions and interests of all researchers. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds.




 

  Need Help?

Contact the Reference Desk:

  • Call us at (337)482-6030
  • Email us
  • Text us at (337)205-7558
  • Click button below for Live Chat

Live Chat Button

Please visit the library's Ask a Librarian page for more information.

 

Resources for finding Ebooks

There are several databases that can be used for finding eBooks or reference sources in Communication. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip