This is the "Find Articles" page of the "Sociology 301" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sociology 301  

Last Updated: Aug 2, 2017 URL: http://louisiana.libguides.com/sociology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search JSTOR

Sociology Databases

SOCIndex contains full text for 253 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers. Subject terms can be found in the searchable thesaurus and in individual articles.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text includes full text for more than 200 journals, magazines, and books. Subjects include: criminal law and procedure, legal medicine, corrections and prisons, probation and parole, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic science, history of crime, Homeland Security, terrorism, alcohol and drug addiction, gambling, family studies, domestic abuse, sexual abuse, race and class issues, and victims of crime. The scope is international.

Web of Science Core Collection (was Social Science Citation Index) is a comprehensive index of the top scholarly research journals in the social sciences. It does NOT directly provide full text of journal articles, but the LinkSource button (listed under Full Text) will search other databases and the catalog for full-text copies of the article. If the Library does not have full text copies of the article available, you can access Inter-Library Loan (ILL) through LinkSource. The advantage of this database is that it provides the number of times an author or an article has been cited in other journal articles

For additional assistance, please contact me at cara@louisiana.edu.

 

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

What does "peer reviewed" mean?
A peer reviewed article is reviewed by subject experts before being approved for publication in order to ensure that it meets specific criteria and standards.  Journals that use peer review in their selection process are generally considered to be of higher quality and more trustworthy than those that don’t use the peer review process.

How do I find peer reviewed articles?
You can find peer reviewed articles by searching our databases. Most databases give you the option to select for peer reviewed articles when conducting your search. Check the "Peer Reviewed" box to ensure all the articles in your search results come from peer reviewed journals.

 

  Need Help?

Contact the Reference Desk:

  • Call us at (337)482-6030
  • Email us
  • Text us at (337)205-7558
  • Click button below for Live Chat

Live Chat Button

Please visit the library's Ask a Librarian page for more information.

Google Scholar

From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources.  Google Scholar provides links to Dupre Library to check for availability. 



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip