- American Petroleum Institute
Contains information about oil and natural gas for the general public; plus information for oil and natural gas professionals and policy makers, and the latest news, reports, testimony, and journalists' resources.
- Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)
The Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM) promotes and manages environmentally responsible offshore conventional and renewable energy resources.
- DMOZ Open Directory: Business/Energy/Oil and Gas
- Drilling Waste Management Information System
An online resource for technical and regulatory information on practices for managing drilling muds and cuttings, including current practices, state and federal regulations, and guidelines for optimal management practices. Funding provided by the U.S.DOE's National Energy Technology Laboratory.
- Ein.net--Engineering and Technology
A comprehensive subject list of web sites, vendors, and organizations. Directory is divided into very specific areas.
- Energy Resources Program: Oil and Gas Resources
This USGS Web site contains extensive information on oil and gas resources and the potential for future development in the United States, including a special emphasis on Alaska and the Gulf Coast.
- Eng-Tips Forums
Popular web site for engineering professionals to exchange ideas and assistance. Online forums include specific disciplines from aeronautics engineering to structural engineering; other forums include hot topics, careers and even a section on proper language usage.
Excellent online source for engineers of all disciplines. Extensive directory, educator's resources, free tools, forum, career center, directories, and even textbook rentals.
- EngNet Engineering Network
Powerful directory-search engine-buyers guide service aimed specifically at the engineering industry.
A leading specialized vertical search, information services and e-publishing company serving the engineering, manufacturing and related scientific and technical market segments. Newletters, product listings, broad range of proprietary and aggregated Web-based content.
- Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections
InfoMine is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information. Academic librarians and other professionals contribute their expertise to InfoMine.
Information about the conference and exhibition of the Louisiana Gulf Coast Oil Exposition, held every two years in Lafayette, LA.
- Louisiana Oil & Gas Association (LOGA)
Wealth of information on the independent and service sectors of the state’s oil and gas industry.
- LSU Center for Energy Studies
THE CENTER FOR ENERGY STUDIES (CES) is the official repository of energy information from the state and The Energy Council.
- OilOnline.com—Your Global Resource for the Oil Industry
News, resources, magazines, e-newsletters, events, etc about the worldwide oil industry.
Online portal which connects job seekers in related professions with employers and employment recruiters.
- Society of Petroleum Engineers
International professional organization that is the technical and professional home for all those engaged in all aspects of the upstream oil and gas industry.
TechXtra is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing.
- World Oil
Although full access to the site requires a subscription, there are many freely accessible news and magazine articles regarding drilling around the world.
- U.S. Energy Information Administration
The EIA provides news, statistics and analysis.