A guide to books, ebooks, journal articles, Internet resources and other material on the subject area of mechanical engineering.
Search multiple Dupré Library resources, electronic and print, all at one time.
To find articles on a current topic in engineering, check out one of these databases. Magazine and journal articles are usually published more quickly than books and other information, so they are most useful for finding recent information.
The library's Reference Online Center has many other databases listed, from general to specific. Remember, these databases are for use only by UL Lafayette students, faculty and staff. Use your CLID and password to access from off campus.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, provides full text for nearly 4,000 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,100 peer-reviewed journals. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865. EbscoHost Mobile is now available for hand-held devices, with iPhone application for quick searches.
- Credo Literati
Use Credo Literati to search through major reference sources such as online dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries. In addition to Credo resources, Content pages also include news, images, videos, links to full-text articles and other resources in EBSCO, JSTOR, Gale Cengage and Google Books. It even has a crossword solver and measurement conversions. Updated regularly.
- Engineering Village 2 (Compendex)
A comprehensive engineering database indexing over 5000 journals, conferences, and reports, about half include abstracts; coverage from 1969, with weekly updates; subject coverage is strongest in chemical and process engineering (15%), computers and data processing (12%), electronics and communication (12%), applied physics (11%), civil engineering (6%),and mechanical engineering (6%).
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- IEEE Explore
IEEE is a leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, among others. UL’s online subscription includes access to the abstracts and full text of materials published since 1988 and select content published since 1913.
Search ThomasNet to find manufacturers, service providers and distributors. Over 67,000 product categories represented. Also provides 2D and 3D CAD drawings from major manufacturers, a forum and other resources.
- ScienceDirect: Freedom Collection
Provides full-text scientific journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books.
- Science and Technology Collection
The Science & Technology Collection contains over 800 leading full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, and materials science.
- Shock and Vibration Digest
Includes full-text records of topics related to shock and vibration, including noise, seismology, experimental mechanics and vibration technologies.
- Web of Knowledge/Science Citation Index
Fully indexes 8,500 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines; Includes all cited references captured from indexed articles; provides some abstracts and access to EndNote Web. Some retrospective data from 1900.
View this helpful video created by NCSU libraries. It provides an overview of article databases and key features for searching article databases effectively. Your computer must have updated an Flash Player (get it from Go Get Flashplayer).
Article Databases in Five Minutes
|Academic Search Complete is the world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, covering current content as well as publications dating back to 1865. Click on the Full Text checkbox to retrieve content that is full text. Mobile users: click on EbscoHost Mobile.
Contact the Reference Desk:
- Call us at (337)482-6030
- Email us
- Text us at (337)205-7558
- Click button below for Live Chat
Please visit the library's Ask a Librarian page for more information.
You've come to the right place!
From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, and other sources. Google Scholar provides links to Dupre Library to check for availability.