A guide to books, ebooks, journal articles, Internet resources and other material on the subject area of civil engineering.
What to look for: Checklist and Tricks for Evaluating Web Pages
- American Society of Civil Engineers
Information about the civil engineering society, its products and services. Tables of contents and abstracts of articles from the Society’s magazine and journals are available, with the full text viewable by members and subscribers only. Its flagship journal, Civil Engineering, offers interesting web articles for free. Careers, forums, education and news are available in the Marketplace. Their Knowledge & Learning section is valuable for its extensive publications and links.
- EngNet Engineering Network
Powerful directory-search engine-buyers guide service aimed specifically at the engineering industry.
Excellent online source for engineers of all disciplines. Extensive directory, educator's resources, free tools, forum, career center, directories, and even textbook rentals.
- Engineering Motion
Engineering and technology related videos and demos.
- Engineers Edge
Engineering, design and manufactuirng database, forums, calcluator and other resources.
- Eng-Tips Forums
Popular web site for engineering professionals to exchange ideas and assistance. Online forums include specific disciplines from aeronautics engineering to structural engineering; other forums include hot topics, careers and even a section on proper language usage.
- Ein.net--Engineering and Technology
A comprehensive subject list of web sites, vendors, and organizations. Directory is divided into very specific areas.
A leading specialized vertical search, information services and e-publishing company serving the engineering, manufacturing and related scientific and technical market segments. Newletters, product listings, broad range of proprietary and aggregated Web-based content.
- iCivilEngineer.com: the Internet for Engineers
Knowledge portal specially designed for civil engineering professionals and students. Offers news, careers, online tools, and a comprehensive web resource collection.
- Infomine: Scholarly Internet Resource Collection
A virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books, bulletin boards, mailing lists, online library catalogs, articles, directories of researchers, and many other types of information. Academic librarians and other professionals contribute their expertise to InfoMine.
TechXtra is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing.
- TenLinks.com: the Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
Directory of CAD, CAM, and CAE. Vast collection of more than 1000 civil engineering resources focused on building and construction engineering.
Contact the Reference Desk:
- Call us at (337)482-6030
- Email us
- Text us at (337)205-7558
- Click button below for Live Chat
Please visit the library's Ask a Librarian page for more information.