This is the "Find Books" page of the "Resources for General Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for General Engineering   Tags: engineering, general engineering, technology  

This guide introduces engineering students to the library and internet resources available to them at UL Lafayette.
It is specifically designed for students in the UL Lafayette College of Engineering.
Last Updated: Mar 7, 2016 URL: http://louisiana.libguides.com/genengineering Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Find Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search the Library's Catalog

 

Credo Literati

Use Credo Literati to search through major reference sources such as online dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, quotations, and bilingual dictionaries.  In addition to Credo resources, Content pages also include news, images, videos, links to full-text articles and other resources in EBSCO, JSTOR, Gale Cengage and Google Books.  It even has a crossword solver and measurement conversions.  Updated regularly.  Only for UL Lafayette users.

Titles from this strong collection of over
780 titles
include:

Cover Art
Manufacturing Engineering Handbook, Second Edition - Hwaiyu Geng
ISBN: 9780071839778
Publication Date: 2015-10-26
This thoroughly updated resource offers complete details on traditional, advanced, and emerging manufacturing engineering processes. All new topics include cloud computing, Internet of Things, 3D printing, nano manufacturing and advanced manufacturing, and operations research.




 

Find Books

Find books and other resources in this list of print and online titles.

Cover Art
Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
Call Number: ebook from Credo Reference
ISBN: 9780122004001
Publication Date: 1992

Cover Art
Best Jobs for the 21st Century Fifth Edition - Michael Farr; Laurenc Shatkin
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 159357536X
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
This book features the 500 jobs with the best pay, fastest growth, and most openings and presents more than 70 "best jobs" lists. The authors have taken massive data from the Department of Labor's Occupational Information Network (O*NET) database and turned it into a helpful, interesting reference for job seekers, students, career changers, and others.

Cover Art
Careers in Engineering, 2nd ed.
Call Number: TA157 .G3267 2003
ISBN: 0071390413
Print book. Responsibilities, education and training required, and employment outlooks for the various fields of engineering.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Technology - Colin Hempstead (Editor); William E. Worthington (Editor)
Call Number: ebook from Credo Reference
ISBN: 1579583865
Publication Date: 2004-11-17
Comprising 395 essays arranged alphabetically, mostly on individual objects, artifacts, techniques, and products, this is an up-to-date work of reference for all those involved in teaching or researching the history of twentieth-century technology.

Cover Art
Engineer’s and Manager’s Guide to Winning Proposals
Call Number: HF5718.5 .H45 1994
ISBN: 0890067805
A no-nonsense approach to getting an engineering proposal approved.

Cover Art
Engineering Careers - Nicholas Basta
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 0071390464
Publication Date: 2002-09-24
More than 100 opportunities for students and job seekers! The most comprehensive career book series available, Opportunities in...covers a range of professions from acting to writing, and encompasses traditional as well as cutting-edge careers. Each book offers job seekers essential information about a variety of careers within each field and includes training and education requirements, salary statistics, and professional and Internet resources.

Cover Art
FE Review Manual
Call Number: TA159 .L5733 2004
ISBN: 1888577533
Print title. Complete exam review package in one book, including a sample exam and more than 1,150 practice problems.

Cover Art
Focal Illustrated Dictionary of Telecommunications - Xerxes Mazda; Fraidoon Mazda
Call Number: ebook from Credo Reference
ISBN: 0240515447
Publication Date: 1999-05-15
An illustrated A-Z listing of telecommunications terms intended for anyone studying, entering or already working in the telecommunications industry.

Cover Art
Handbook of Technical Writing
Call Number: Ref T11 .B775 2000
ISBN: 0312254962
Print title. Classic book remains the complete technical-writing reference for students and professionals alike.

Cover Art
High Definition: an A to Z Guide to Personal Technology - American Heritage Dictionary Editors (Editor)
ISBN: 0618714898
Publication Date: 2006-10-18
Modern life is packed with information technology, but many technical terms leave us with puzzling questions. High Definition: An A to Z Guide to Personal Technology provides answers to these and thousands of other questions about the technology we live with and depend on. With more than 3,000 terms, this is the first dictionary to bring together both the basic and the not-so-basic vocabularies of home computers, cell phones, modems, the Internet, CD and DVD players, monitors and screens, gaming systems, and other information technology found in houses, offices, backpacks, and pockets. Both the non-technically minded and the techno-savvy will find the explanations and cross-references helpful, clear, and interesting. The dictionary helps to decipher in straightforward and accessible language the myriad of confusing terms associated with current technology.

Cover Art
Larousse Dictionary of Science and Technology - Peter Walker (Editor); Hazel Muir (Editor)
Call Number: Ref Q123 .L37 1995
ISBN: 0752300105
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
Print title. This edition of the most comprehensive, single-volume reference work of its kind has been fully revised and updated to reflect recent developments in the dynamic scientific world. Includes over 40,000 definitions and 500 drawings.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: Ref Q121 .M3 2007
ISBN: 9780071441438
Publication Date: 2007-05-27
The definitive source for keeping up with the amazing changes in science and technology - complete with more than 1,700 new and updated articles. Featuring entries written by international leaders in science and technology selected by McGraw-Hill's distinguished board of consulting editors, no other reference so thoroughly and dynamically chronicles the expanding frontier, facts, and trends so vital to students, professionals, and general readers. Readers will find 7,000+ articles covering nearly 100 fields of science in this amazing 20 volume set. The new Tenth Edition features more than 1,700 new and updated articles, 12,000+ illustrations, and more than 5000 contributors. Also new to the Tenth Edition is a companion website that will provide selected updates to the Encyclopedia, along with additional material such as special graphics and illustrations.

Cover Art
Pocket Illustrated Dictionary of Engineering Terms - Peter Twigg; Roger L. Timings
Call Number: ebook from Credo Reference
ISBN: 0750650710
Publication Date: 2001-01-03
A comprehensive dictionary for engineering students, this text contains over 1200 engineering terms with clear and concise definitions. The dictionary is highly illustrated and written in plain, non-technical language and extensive cross-referencing makes concepts more easily understood. Timings and Twigg focus on a wide range of engineering disciplines - engineering science, electrical and electronic engineering, workshop practices and mechanical engineering - and provide definitions that are relevant to all.

Cover Art
Scientific Writing - Jennifer Peat
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 0585415021
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This practical book covers the basics of grammar as well as broad brush issues such as writing a grant application and selling to your potential audience. The clear explanations are expanded and lightened with helpful examples and telling quotes.

Cover Art
Scientific Writing = Thinking in Words - David R. Lindsay
Call Number: Electronic Resource
ISBN: 9780643101579
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Guides students and researchers in the art of writing scientific papers.

 

eBooks on EBSCOHost

eBooks on EBSCOHost provides access to over 100,000 e-book titles.These e-books cover topics in business, computer science, education, history, literature, and much more. Reference, scholarly, professional and popular books are included.

The collection may be accessed directly from any computer at UL and may be accessed off-campus.  Just be sure to sign in with your CLID so that you may be recognized as a UL Lafayette user.

Each book is listed in the library's catalog. Click on the URL and a new window will take you to that title.  All ebooks are in Adobe Digital Editions or PDF format.  The entire UL collection may also be searched at the main web site. 

Search eBooks on EBSCO
 

Books from Momentum Press

Momentum Press Digital Library 2014/2015 (Engineering Collection) includes ebooks in industrial, mechanical, chemical, civil and environmental engineering, and material science.

Cover Art
Business Fundamentals for Engineering Managers - Carl Chang
ISBN: 9781606504789
Publication Date: 2014-05-15
Engineering managers make long and lasting impact in industry by regularly developing new technology-based projects, new service innovations and/or efficiency-centered process improvements to create strategic differentiation and operational excellence. The book consists of three sets of business fundamentals. The new business vocabulary and useful analysis tools presented in this book will enable engineering managers to become more effective when interacting with senior management, and to ready themselves to assume higher-level corporate responsibilities. Readers will benefit from a greater depth of business fundamentals and increased decision-making capabilities.

Cover Art
Idea Engineering - La Verne Abe Harris
ISBN: 9781606504727
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Engineers and technologists often operate from a worldview of 'ones and zeros.' The mission of this book is to interject the colorful world of creative thinking to help engineers and technologists learn to think and work differently. The material in this book is organized to take the reader through basic concepts and techniques of creative thinking and innovation, to better solve engineering and technological challenges.

Cover Art
Heat Transfer Virtual Lab for Students and Engineers - Harshad Mahajan; Ella Fridman
ISBN: 9781606505489
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Laboratory experiments are a vital part of engineering education, which historically were considered impractical for distance learning. This book presents a guide for the practical employment of a heat transfer virtual lab for students and engineers. They introduce and explain LabVIEW in easy-to-understand language. LabVIEW is a proprietary software tool by National Instruments, and can be used to develop fairly complex instrumentation systems (measurement and control).

Cover Art
Advanced Technologies in Biodiesel - Aminul Islam
ISBN: 9781606505021
Publication Date: 2014-02-01
Given the rapidly increasing demand for energy which is projected to double by mid-21st century, it is expected that biodiesels will become an important part of the global energy mix and make a significant contribution to meeting energy demand. This valuable book gives a critical review on the recently emerged process intensification technologies for biodiesel production as well as the various methods for assessing biodiesel fuel quality. The authors offer suggestions on selection of appropriate methods, making this book of particular interest to biochemical engineers, academics, post graduate and graduate students, and industrial researchers.

Cover Art
Power Systems and Renewable Energy - Gary D. Price
ISBN: 9781606505700
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
The goal of this proposed text is to provide a recourse for engineering students interested in the design and operation of solar electric, solar thermal, wind, and other renewable systems.

Cover Art
Sustainable Remediation of Contaminated Sites - Krishna Reddy; Jeffrey Adams
ISBN: 9781606505212
Publication Date: 2015-02-23
This book presents a holistic approach to remediation that considers ancillary environmental impacts and aims to optimize net effects to the environment. It addresses a broad range of environmental, social, and economic impacts during all remediation phases, and achieves remedial goals through more efficient, sustainable strategies that conserve resources and protect air, water, and soil quality through reduced emissions and other waste burdens. This book describes the decision framework, presents qualitative and quantitative assessment tools, including multi-disciplinary metrics, to assess sustainability, and reviews potential new technologies.

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

An electronic database of encyclopedias, dictionaries and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Fully searchable across chapter, essays and other files.  Updated regularly.

This database is available only to UL Lafayette users.

x

Titles from the collection include:

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Science,Technology and Ethics - Carl Mitcham
ISBN: 9780028658315
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
Moral teachings and ethical questions about the creation and use of science and technology have been a part of religious and philosophical traditions from the earliest periods. Today, the challenges are more global in scope and are intensified by terrorists opposed to many dimensions of the scientific and technological world. New fields of ethical reflection--computer ethics, environmental ethics, communication ethics, genethics--are emerging to deal with the world that science and technology have created. The "Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education. Additionally, it provides a practical introduction to useful knowledge and ideas for both professionalsand general readers.

Cover Art
Space Sciences - Patricia Dasch (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028655468
Publication Date: 2002-09-16
From the history of space exploration to the future of ``space business,'' this set offers a broad survey of the space sciences. It includes biographies of scientists and the spacerelated job market.

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Science - K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
ISBN: 9781414428772
Publication Date: 2007-10-09
This six-volume set covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Consisting of alphabetically arranged entries, it provides a user-friendly format that makes the broad scope of information easy to access and decipher. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific subjects and define terms. Longer entries conclude with a bibliography. The 4th edition has been completely updated and includes more than 75 new entries on key scientific topics in the news, including: DNA databanks, Crime Scene Investigations, Internet Search Engines, Podcasts, Weapons of Mass Destruction, Wireless Communications and much more.

 

Oxford Reference Online

The Oxford Reference Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.

Find a wealth of facts, figures, definitions, and translations from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers, including more than 50,000 additional in-depth, scholarly articles from titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series.

Titles are listed in the library's catalog as electronic resources, including the following:

This database is available only to UL Lafayette users.

 

  Need Help?

Contact the Reference Desk:

  • Call us at (337)482-6030
  • Email us
  • Text us at (337)205-7558
  • Click button below for Live Chat

Live Chat Button

Please visit the library's Ask a Librarian page for more information.

 

Google Book Search

The full text of books may be searched.  Click on "Find this book in a library" to find a local library that owns the title.  Titles that are out of copyright generally have the entire contents available through Google Books.



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip