This is the "Introduction" page of the "Edith Garland Dupré Library Policy on Acceptable Use of E-Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Edith Garland Dupré Library Policy on Acceptable Use of E-Resources   Tags: acceptable use, databases, e-resources, ebooks, ejournals, electronic resources  

Statement of acceptable use policy for library e-Resources
Last Updated: Aug 10, 2015 URL: http://louisiana.libguides.com/acceptable_use Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Introduction


The Acceptable Use of E-Resources must be upheld by all of the library's users (students, faculty, and staff). Edith Garland Dupré Library reserves the right to revoke access to its resources should users fail to comply.

Contents:

 

Statement of Acceptable Use Policy

Use of electronic resources is limited to UL Lafayette authorized users (students, faculty, staff, and walk-in library visitors). Users must follow Fair Use as outlined in U.S. Copyright Law and provisions of license agreements with individual providers. Material obtained through the library in an electronic format must be used for personal, noncommercial purposes.

Improper Use generally includes, but is not limited to:

  • Utilizing robots/auto crawlers
  • Downloading entire e-journals
  • Printing numerous copies of a single article
  • Publishing or distributing articles made available through library databases

Unauthorized use of Dupré Library databases and other electronic resources can result in revocation of access and/or disciplinary action. Dupré Library faculty members and vendors of electronic resource content reserve the right to idenitfy and monitor suspicious acitivity involving library products and services with usage statistics.

Acceptable Use examples:

  • Accessing library resources from off-campus with CLID and password authentication
  • Accessing library resources through moodle and ULINK
  • Sharing or emailing articles and resources among authorized users
  • Saving articles to a personal folder or flash drive, but not for purposes of re-distribution

Users of library resources must also comply with the campus-wide Information Technology Policy on security and acceptable use.

For questions about use or to see the full policy on file, contact your E-Resources librarian, Sarah Philipson (sphilipson@louisiana.edu 337.482.6197).

 

Definition of E-Resources

Electronic resources governed by the acceptable use policy are defined as resources within the library's collection that require a computer for access. Examples include, but are not limited to:

  • Online periodical databases
  • Online reference databases
  • E-journals
  • E-books
  • Government information
  • Datafiles
  • Web sites

Data may be accessible online or on locally recorded media, such as CD-Rom or DVD.

Last updated 8/09/13.  © Copyright 2013 by the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sarah Philipson

Links to Guides

Edith Garland Dupré Library Electronic Resources Collection Development Policy
by Sarah Philipson - Last Updated Aug 10, 2015
The purpose of this policy is to direct the addition, maintenance and removal of electronic resources to the existing Library collection of Edith Garland Dupré Library.
121 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip